The happy life of a happy wife…











{September 16, 2010}   Taco Crescents

Recipe adapted from Willow Bird Baking

I love tacos.  I love crescent rolls.  Put them together and you’ve got yourself another winner…

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 cans of the giant crescent rolls (I used the ‘big and buttery’ kind)

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350.
  2. Brown ground beef.  Drain.  Add taco seasoning and some water & let simmer (just like when you make regular tacos).  You won’t need to let all of the liquid simmer off, but you also don’t want it to be soupy.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the cream cheese and most of the cheddar cheese.  Reserve a bit of the cheddar to put on top of your crescents.
  4. Add the ground beef to the cheese mixture.  Stir to combine.
  5. Spoon some of the mixture onto each crescent roll.  It works best to do it one at a time so you’ll get a feel for how much to use.  I probably used about 1 heaping tbsp on each because I didn’t want them to be overstuffed.
  6. Roll and seal the openings.  The easiest way to do this is by folding in the corners and sealing the wide end first… then rolling the crescent up like normal.
  7. Sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top.
  8. Bake for about 11-13 minutes until golden brown.

Don't let the look of the mixture scare you away...

Ready to go in the oven

What they look like when you overstuff... oops!

Makes 12 large crescents.

You will have some stuffing leftover, so be creative and please share with me your ideas of what to do with it.  :)

brandy says:

I have been thinking about these ever since you posted them on bakebakebake, I am so buying the stuff at the store tonight to make them! I have some ricotta I’ve been meaning to use up, I think I’ll try it instead of the cream cheese.



I’m not sure if the ricotta will completely melt in like the cream cheese did, but I’m sure you’ll love these when you try ‘em! :)

Actually, I’m posting a recipe today for some fritters that use ricotta. They were awesome too.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

