The happy life of a happy wife…











{April 24, 2010}   This weekend…

We went to Pop Pop’s this morning so Shane could help him out and paint his back porch for him.  While there, I inherited three of Gramma’s old mixing bowls, two lazy susans, a gold clock (broken but still cool) and an expired can of Pam.

Shane is painting our front porch right now, and it has me wondering what I want to do with it.  I have my amaryllis out there *which actually has five big blooms now* and I know I want to add a chair.  What I’m torn about is what kind of chair.  Since my first trip there, I’ve wanted a Cracker Barrel rocking chair.  So comfy and they look so welcoming.  But – our front porch is absolutely tiny, so there is only enough room for one chair.  One rocking chair?  I know Florida is different from some of the other states, but we’re still “Southern” and I don’t know how I feel about only one rocking chair!  I picture two rocking chairs with a table in between and a pitcher of ice-cold lemonade.

So if I can’t have my rocking chair dream, the next best thing would be a bistro set.  That too, sadly, has it’s drawbacks.  There’s plenty of room for a small bistro set, but then I’d have to move my plants out.  Not gonna happen.

I’m back to square one in looking for a single chair that would still be inviting.  Even though I love the look of colorful summer cushions, it just isn’t practical for an area prone to spiders.  Who wants to sit on a chair and have an unwelcome visitor under their tush?  I could get one of the $8.50 plastic ones, but sometimes bargains just don’t cut it.

What I’m leaning towards right now is this one:  Click Me! Two of them would be overkill, so one is perfect.  It has a charming amount of whimsy.  It gets great reviews and can double as a plant stand.

Oh I LOVE that chair!!!
Another idea might be a double planter bench, if it’s not too big. Tim and I saw one at Big Lots this weekend. It’s white plastic, long enough to seat 2, and has good sized planter boxes on either side.
May be a bit too big for your porch, though…



I thought about a bench, but our neighbor has a cute little bench outside her front door and I didn’t want to copy her too much 🙂 Shane just painted our porch white like she did lol



Ahh, I see. Well, no bench for you. I’m all for that amazingly cute little butterfly chair you found. Can I copy you?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
