The happy life of a happy wife…











{June 7, 2010}   Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

Recipe from Here

My first cheesecake, and it was easier than I thought it would be.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup butter (melted)
  • 3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup *mini* semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp AP flour

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F
  2. Mix graham cracker crumbs, sugar, butter, and cocoa.  Press onto the bottom and up the sides of a 9-inch springform pan.  Set crust aside.
  3. Beat cream cheese until smooth.
  4. Gradually add sweetened condensed milk and beat well.
  5. Add vanilla and eggs and beat until smooth.
  6. Toss 1/2 of the chocolate chips in the AP flour to coat, and then mix into the cheese mixture.
  7. Pour into the crust and sprinkle the top with the remaining chocolate chips.
  8. Bake for 1 hour
  9. Turn off the oven and let the cake cool without opening the oven door for another hour.
  10. Remove from oven and cool completely.
  11. Refrigerate for at least a couple hours before removing the sides of the pan.

That last step is where I made my mistake.  The original directions just said to cool completely, and I assumed an hour in the fridge would be enough, but it wasn’t.  That’s why the sides look a little chocolately in my picture, because the chocolate in the topping followed my knife down.

I still couldn’t resist taking a bite…  let me tell you that hot cheesecake is not very good!  After I cut a slice for myself, and another to take to my friend, I put the rest back in the fridge & I’m looking forward to trying it again tonight.

I’d like to state, for the record, that this cheesecake tasted AMAZING!

That is all…



Leave a Reply

et cetera
