The happy life of a happy wife…











{July 8, 2010}   Panko Crusted Chicken with Sweet Citrus Teriyaki Sauce

While browsing through my one of my new favorite blogs, I came across this EXCELLENT recipe from The Steamy Kitchen Cookbook by Jaden Hair!

Being an admittedly timid cook, I was a little bit hesitant to go to the grocery store for the ingredients.  I didn’t know where Sake is (turns out in my store the big bottles are in the wine aisle and the smaller bottles are by the lobster tank) and I’d never even heard of mirin before!  Mirin, by the way, is a sweet Japanese rice cooking wine that is near the soy sauce at the store.  And while I’ve heard my sister Katie talk about how much she loves panko, I’d never tried it before.  Panko = Japanese style breadcrumbs.

I also have an incredible picky eater for a husband, so I was worried he wouldn’t approve… … … but as it turns out, my worries were for naught.  We both loved it, and hubby even said it’s in his Top 5!  So I highly recommend this recipe!

Ingredients for the sauce:

  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 3 tbsp sake
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp mirin

Ingredients for the chicken:

  • 1/2 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups panko
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (the thinly sliced kind – or you could butterfly the breasts or pound to a thinner cut)
  • Nonstick cooking spray

Directions for the sauce:

  1. Combine all of the sauce ingredients in a small saucepan.
  2. Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to low and let the sauce simmer until slightly thickened (6 minutes).
  3. Remove from heat and set aside.

Directions for the chicken:

  1. Preheat the oven to 475 degrees.
  2. In a shallow bowl, whisk together the flour, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.
  3. In a second bowl, lightly beat the eggs together.
  4. Put the panko in a third bowl (or I used a pie plate for this and it worked perfectly).
  5. Place a wire rack over a baking sheet and lightly spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  6. *optional* Lightly season both sides of the chicken with S & P.
  7. Work with one piece of chicken at a time, and using tongs, dredge both sides of the chicken in the flour mixture to coat both sides (shake lightly to remove any excess).  Then dip into the eggs.  Then place in the panko, turning to coat both sides well.  Transfer to the prepared wire rack.
  8. Once all of the chicken pieces are on the rack, spray the tops lightly with cooking spray.
  9. Bake for 15 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through and the breadcrumbs are golden brown.
  10. Let rest a few minutes before slicing, and serve with the teriyaki sauce in a small bowl on the side for dipping.
  11. Enjoy!

Coating bowls

Teriyaki serving bowls

 

 AND NOW FOR THE CONTEST!!!

One of my goals while Shane was gone was to clean up and decorate our loft.  It had become a storage area of sorts, and wasn’t really useful for anything.  During one of my trips to Ikea, I found this lamp that I absolutely fell in love with!  It gives off a soft white light and is a wonderful accent piece.  So since I loved it so much, I went out and got another one to share with one of you!  The winner will receive this lamp  🙂

The prize

To enter:  All you need to do is send an e-mail to happylifehappywife@yahoo.com with a comment about the site (or I’d also welcome any good recipes you’d like to share with me!)  The contest will be through July 22, 2010 and then a winner will be randomly chosen and notified.
 
**A random winner will be chosen on July 23, 2010.  Winner will be notified via e-mail and will have 48 hours to confirm and respond with his or her mailing address.  Failure to confirm and respond with acceptance within 48 hours will be considered as your forfeiting the prize and another winner will be chosen.**
Leave a Reply

et cetera
