The happy life of a happy wife…











{July 16, 2010}   Katie’s Chicken Broccoli Casserole

Here’s a recipe courtesy of my lovely sister.  She took one of Mom’s basic recipes (for broccoli casserole — haven’t posted that one here yet, but I will) and tweaked it up into an entrée.  Yummy!

I must apologize for this picture though.  To be perfectly honest, I have the incredibly bad habit of “losing” stuff in the fridge.  It goes in, and never comes back out.  This casserole was one of them.  The recipe makes enough for a large 13×9 pan, but I broke it down into two 8×8’s because I was taking one to my book club meeting.  Hubby put the extra one in the fridge under a pizza box, and I forgot about it!  I was so disappointed because I love this casserole, but I don’t like eating leftovers more than a day or two after the fact.  So this one got tossed, but not before I snapped a pic of it so I’d at least have something to show on here.

Katie's Chicken Broccoli Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of “microwave in bag” broccoli florets
  • 1 bag of extra wide egg noodles (I use No Yolks brand)
  • 2-3 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 cans ‘Cream of Chicken and Mushroom’ soup
  • 1 can milk
  • 5 tsp sour cream
  • 2 cups cheese (16 oz)
  • Ritz crackers (crushed)
  • Butter (optional)

Directions:

  1. Cut chicken into cubes and cook in pan (saute with a lil EVOO)
  2. Cook pasta as directed, but subtract 1 or 2 minutes from the cooking time.
  3. Cook broccoli for half the time recommended on the bag (or even a little less)
  4. In a saucepan, heat the cream of chicken/mushroom soup and the milk.
  5. Once all of that is done and ready, you can begin layering.  She does broccoli, chicken, pasta, soup, cheese.  Repeat those layers.
  6. Then top with the Ritz crackers (she pours the melted butter over the Ritz, but I leave it off completely)
  7. Here’s where her recipe got even more shaky.  She says, “Bake in probably an 11×9 baking dish.  I think it is 350? Can’t remember how long.  Wow, this recipe is inexact”  LOL
  8. I baked it at 350 for about 30 minutes.  Just keep an eye on it.  The cheese should be nice and bubbly and the crackers will have a nice, toasted brown color.
Leave a Reply

et cetera
