The happy life of a happy wife…











{July 29, 2010}   Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

 

Ah-mazing!  Filet Mignon is my favorite cut of beef.  I mean, c’mon!  You’d have to be crazy not to like it.  The only thing I don’t like about the Filet is its price tag!  At the store – 4 small filets were $30!  So I opted for the cheaper route and bought those pre-packaged filets with the bacon wrapped around them.  I love the brand I get at Publix / hate the brand that’s available at WalMart… so use your best judgment 🙂

This was my first try at a gorgonzola sauce — and I think it was nailed to perfection!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Ingredients

One thing to keep in mind is that this sauce makes enough for at least 4-6 people!  LOL  Since there are only 2 people in my household, it goes without saying that we had plenty leftover.  But since I’d rather have too much than too little — here it is nonetheless.

Gorgonzola Ingredients:

  • 4 cups heavy cream
  • 4 oz crumbled gorgonzola cheese (you can definitely add more gorgonzola if you want to, but this was perfect for my tastes)
  • 3 tbsp grated parmesan cheese (I did 3 ‘large’ tablespoons) 🙂
  • 3/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • Chopped bacon pieces (optional)

 Gorgonzola Recipe:

  1. Pour heavy cream into a saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat.
  2. Reduce heat to low and simmer until the cream has reduced, stirring often, about an hour (original recipe said it needed to reduce by half…  mine probably only reduced by about a third because my steaks were done already, but it was perfect for me)
  3. Remove from heat and whisk in the gorgonzola and parmesan cheeses, salt, pepper, and nutmeg until the cheese has melted and everything is mixed in well.
    *An important note here is that I really do not like nutmeg.  I don’t like the taste or the smell of it and was seriously considering leaving it out…  but I included it and I think it actually bumped the sauce up to another level.  I wouldn’t leave it out if I were you.*
  4. Also – After tasting the sauce with some of the bacon from my steak, I’m going to incorporate a few pieces in the sauce itself next time.  It was great!

 

Filet Mignon Ingredients:

  • 4 (8oz) fillet / beef tenderloin
  • lemon pepper
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • salt & pepper
  • Chopped bacon pieces for garnish.

Filet Mignon Directions:

  1. Season both sides of the beef with lemon pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and salt & pepper.
  2. I like to broil my steaks in the oven, but you can really cook them however you prefer.
  3. When they are done, let them rest for 5 minutes.
  4. Serve each steak with the gorgonzola sauce and top with bacon pieces.

 

The sauce will continue to thicken while standing.  When I make it next time, I think I will plate the sauce first while the steaks are cooking/resting – then lay the steak on top.  But even though my sauce didn’t fully thicken before I took my pictures, it still tasted absolutely amazing.

We started out with just a drizzle...

Liked the sauce so much we just poured a ton more on there...!

...and finished it off with some bacon!

Olive says:

That sauce is totally sexy. I think I want to try it on some scallops with a bottle of (rule breaking) Merlot and some of the fancy bread we have at the bakery. Carbs and hard core fat. <3!



Thanks! I actually don’t eat any seafood, but I bet my hubby would agree with you on the scallops! I guess I’ll just stick with the merlot and the good bread!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
