The happy life of a happy wife…











{August 9, 2010}   Cauliflower Risotto

I think I would’ve tricked Shane into trying this one if he hadn’t gone shopping with me & saw me buying the cauliflower…

Cauliflower Risotto

I really wanted to try this one since I found it on One Frugal Foodie.  I’ve always like cauliflower, so maybe I was partial to the recipe to begin with… but it was good and good for you!

While I was processing away, I asked Shane to snap a quick pic of the ingredients for me.  Hopefully he got them all 🙂

The ingredients

Ingredients:

  • About 2 ounces pine nuts (these little goodies are fairly pricey IMO!)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup minced onion (white)
  • 1-2 heads of cauliflower (you will need 6 cups when it’s grated)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth (or vegetarian broth if you want to go that route)
  • 12-20 fresh basil leaves.
  • Fresh ground pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Combine the pine nuts and the salt in your food processor.  Pulse it a few times until the nuts grind up and begin to clump.  Set aside for later.
  2. Cut the stems off your cauliflower so you are left with mostly the florets.  Toss them into the food processor so they will be grated.  and will end up looking kinda like rice (you can see a bit of mine in the ingredients picture… piled high on a plate)
  3. *Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the onion and saute for about 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add the grated cauliflower and continue to saute for another 4 minutes.
  5. *Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute more.
  6. Add the broth, reduce the heat to medium-low, stir, cover, and let it cook for 2-3 minutes. (I didn’t have a lid, so I left it uncovered, added some extra broth, and cooked it until it was my desired texture)
  7. While the risotto is cooking, chiffonade your basil leaves and set aside for the garnish.  (To chiffonade, stack the leaves one on top of the other, tightly roll the basil length-wise, and slice)
  8. Remove the lid, turn off the heat, and stir in the pine nuts.  Continue to stir until the nuts are distributed and everything is nice & creamy.
  9. Stir in the basil and fresh ground pepper to taste.  (I also added some a tidge of extra salt for flavor)
  10. Serve warm.

yields about 6 side servings.

*I added the garlic in step 5.  I like garlic and didn’t think the flavor was too strong.  However, if you prefer your garlic more incorporated, you can always throw it in with the onions in step 3.

Alisa says:

Glad you liked the recipe! My husband actually enjoys it whenever I make cauliflower rice, which is saying a lot since he doesn’t like cauliflower!



Mine won’t eat any veggies, so I’ll have to try and find another way to trick him. Maybe the cauliflower pizza crust will do the trick 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
