The happy life of a happy wife…











{August 10, 2010}   Chocolate Bowls

Over at The Hob-Bee Hive, which is another one of my favorite blogs to follow, she posted this recipe for chocolate bowls back in May.  I thought it was absolutely adorable, and I just kept thinking how much I would love to serve ice cream in these bad boys at one of my dinner parties!  (But ???  I haven’t had any dinner parties.  ?????????)

So……  Mom’s birthday was Sunday.  Perfect timing to finally make my chocolate bowls.

First, I discovered that I am not capable of blowing up a balloon.  It just wasn’t working.  Apparently I have mouth problems – can’t blow up balloons, can’t play the trombone, can’t swallow pills, etc..  And the fact that I bought water balloons by mistake didn’t help any.

Second, I learned that no matter how many times she tells me differently, I do not like the taste of her “sugar-free chocolate”  It was incredibly bitter – go figure.

Third, I realized that the chocolate I bought for the regular (including sugar) bowls wasn’t what I wanted.  I bought milk chocolate when I meant to buy semi-sweet.  Personal preference, that’s all.

Fourth, I discovered that I am not capable of making chocolate bowls.  I don’t know if the chocolate was too hot, the balloons were too big/small, I was doing something else wrong?  I don’t know.  But all I do know is that 7 balloons popped and I only ended up with one chocolate semi-bowl.

She had already taken the spoon to it before I snapped the pictures, but this is still the saddest, most pathetic looking chocolate bowl ever!

So I ended up just coating some glass bowls in chocolate and refrigerating until it hardened.

Oh, and by the way, when the balloons pop on you, the chocolate goes EVERYWHERE!  lol.  There was chocolate on the floor, in the sink, on the cabinets, on the microwave, stove top, oven, on the wallpaper… and on my clothes, my glasses, and my person.  That, in and of itself, made the entire process worth my while.  It’s important to be able to laugh in spite of things not turning out the way you’d hoped they would. 🙂

Leave a Reply

et cetera
