The happy life of a happy wife…











{August 24, 2010}   Cinnamon Sugar Muffins

How To: Simply posted this recipe for doughnut muffins on 8/3.  I thought it was posted before that, but maybe it just felt like a long time because I couldn’t wait to make them as soon as I saw it!

But… I don’t know.  Maybe I did something wrong.  They just weren’t what I was expecting.

They’re very pretty… but here are my honest thoughts on them:

When I heard “doughnut muffins” I was expecting almost a glazed doughnut consistency, maybe something like what you’d get at Krispy Kreme.  I don’t know why, but that’s what I had stuck in my head and that’s what I was thinking they were going to be.  I won’t make them again to satisfy a doughnut craving, but I do think they would be perfect for a ‘Christmas morning’ dish.  They have that wonderful, warm comfort feeling that makes you want to curl up by a fire with a cup of hot chocolate and read a good book.

Also, when I make them again, I think I will just sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mixture over the muffins.  It was a bit heavy on the coating for my personal tastes.  Plus, once you have done a few of them the sugar coating starts to clump from the butter, so you end up with some sugar clumps on your muffins.

But with a sprinkled on topping and a new name (something like, say, Cinnamon Sugar Muffins) then I think these would be a hit.

Ingredients for the muffins:

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk

Ingredients for the coating:

  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees & grease a muffin tin.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon in a medium bowl.
  3. Combine the oil, sugar, egg and milk in another bowl.  Add the dry ingredients and stir only enough to combine.
  4. Bake for 15-20 minutes.  While they are baking, prepare your coating:
  5. Melt the butter in a small bowl
  6. Combine the sugar and cinnamon in another small bowl.
  7. Shake the muffins out of the tin while they are still hot.
  8. Dip in the melted butter and then into the sugar mixture.
  9. Place on a wire rack and let cool.

Lay Hudson says:

I love learning new recipes and i think i would like to try this one !! Exellent work !!



I’m sorry that they weren’t what you were expecting! To me, they remind me of the doughnuts that I used to get at the cider mill when I was a child. I guess we just have different thoughts when it comes to doughnuts. They are always a huge hit when I make them and they never last very long in my home because we devour them one after another. I brought them with me to the Big Summer Potluck event earlier this month and all of the attendees loved them. Thanks for trying the recipe!



Oh it’s no problem at all. They were still delicious.

I love your site btw 🙂



fontgirl says:

These look really yummy! Thanks for the heads up on what to expect when making them. Have you tried the marshmallows yet? I think i’m making another batch this weekend – they are just so addicting haha



I actually just printed out the recipe and stuck in my purse to bring home with me. I’m hoping I’ll have some time to make them this weekend.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
