The happy life of a happy wife…











{September 7, 2010}   Easy Ice Cream Pie

I’ve been making these ice cream pies for a long time now, and I’m always struck by how easy they are!  Couple that with the fact that you can use just about any toppings you like, and I’d have to say that this is one heck of a dessert.

Ingredients:

  • Ready made pie crust (I used chocolate this time, but the Oreo crust is probably my favorite)
  • Ice Cream (any flavor)
  • A few squares of chocolate (melted)
  • Toppings of your choice

Directions:

  1. Soften your ice cream by letting it sit out for a few minutes.
  2. Spread it evenly in the pie crust using the back of a spoon.
  3. Sprinkle the toppings of your choice on.
  4. Drizzle on your melted chocolate.
  5. Put in the freezer for at least 30 minutes.  (and since ice cream loves the freezer, you can definitely make this ahead of time)

My favorite combination: Oreo crust, Breyer’s mint chocolate chip ice cream, and mini M&M’s.
Half my family loves nuts and half of them hate nuts, so I mixed it up here.

Spread the ice cream

Bring on the toppings

Chocolate on top

Mmmmm

I think we need to start being invited to your house for dinner once a week. You can cook for an extra 5, right?



I’d probably have a lot less food wasted that way. It’s tough cooking for two. lol



Leave a Reply

et cetera
