The happy life of a happy wife…











{October 1, 2010}   Chicken Noodle Casserole

Ambyr at TheCoupoNinja asked if I’d be interested in posting some recipes for her readers that would incorporate some ingredients from her weekly shopping list…  and I was very happy to accept.  This week I came up with a classic comfort food dish:  Chicken Noodle Casserole.  

You’re very welcome to use the recipe here, but if you want to find out how I made it for under $2 a serving you’ll need to visit her site.  

  

The only thing you’ll need to imagine adding in your head would be some peas.  I think they’d really top off this dish, but I couldn’t include them or Shane wouldn’t have eaten. 🙂  Picky husband hates veggies.  

Saute some chicken

  

Mix up your noodles

  

Noodles ->

  

Chicken -> Cheese ->

  

Noodles ->

  

Topping or...

  

just some more cheese

  

Ingredients:  

  • Boneless skinless chicken breast tenders
  • 1 box fettuccine pasta
  • 1 can cream of chicken and mushroom soup
  • 2-3 tbsp sour cream
  • 1.5 cups shredded cheese
  • a couple handfuls of Lay’s potato chips

Directions:  

  1. Slice your chicken into bite sized cubes, season, and then saute in EVOO until cooked.  Once the chicken is done, remove it to a paper towel covered plate to remove any excess oil.
  2. Meanwhile, cook your pasta accordingly to the package directions, however subtract about a minute from the cooking time.  You want a firm ‘al dente’
  3. Drain the pasta and then return it to the pan.  Add the soup & sour cream and mix to combine.
  4. Put a few handfuls of Lays original potato chips in a plastic bag and crush to form crumbs.
  5. Layer the ingredients in your baking dish.  Pasta ->Chicken -> Cheese -> Pasta -> Chips
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

I wasn’t sure if I would like the chips on top, so I did half with the chips and half with just some extra cheese.  It’s no comparison.  For me, the chips win hands-down.  I even crumbled up some extra while I was eating because I wanted some chip in every bite 😉  

I also made it with sharp cheddar and I should have used something a bit more subtle and a little less sharp.  But those are my only suggestions  🙂  Hope you enjoy.  

Christi says:

This looks yummy!

more-then-a-momma.blogspot.com



2 things… 1, NUMMM!
and 2, thanks for guest posting for me. I look forward to more!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
