The happy life of a happy wife…











{October 26, 2010}   Mozzarella Sticks

Recipe from: the Confident mom

I adore mozzarella sticks… and that’s about the only intro I need for this one!  These are simple and fantastic.  And the crunch?! OMG  Let’s just say I could actually hear it when Shane bit into one!  Amazing.

Disregard my picture though.  Flour -> Egg-> Breadcrumbs.

I do have a funny story to tell though.  I was much more comfortable frying things on the stove after making these cheese fritters, especially since I have a thermometer to use now.  So I get the oil in a pot, turn the heat on, and get it preheated to 350.  I drop a couple in and they are sizzling beautifully and I start bragging to my husband about how awesome I am.  We were playing with the new thermometers and watching the temperature rise (yes, we are dorks).

So after the first batch comes out, hubby crunches into one and declares that yes, I am amazing… I glance down at the recipe I had printed and said, “Oh $h!t!  I was only supposed to have the temperature at 175!  Turn the heat off quick before I catch something on fire!!”  At which point hubby questions how I rely on recipes to cook anything but yet not actually read the recipes.

So I remove the pot from the burner and watch the temperature gradually go down, all the while continuing to cook more mozzarella sticks.  Coincidentally, the lower the temperature got the harder a time I was having.  By the last mozzarella stick, all I had left was a big blob of cheese stuck to the bottom of the pan and a big mess on the plate.

Turns out that the recipe I had printed just had a little typo on the required temperature.  They meant to say 375, not 175!  What I’ve learned is that 200 degrees makes a big difference 🙂

Oh — and get this picture in your head — I didn’t have a slotted spoon that I could use, so we opted for the potato masher.  It worked, kinda…


These are the four that turned out amazing!  (The rest of them we just won’t talk about anymore lol)

Ingredients:

  • 8 piece of string cheese
  • 1/2 cup flour (AP)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1-2 tbsp milk (I used fat-free half & half because I had some leftover)
  • 1 cup Italian-style Panko breadcrumbs
  • Oil, for frying
  • Marinara Sauce (for dipping)

Directions:

  1. Cut the string cheese in half so you will end up with 16 pieces.
  2. Arrange your prep bowls – 1 for flour, 1 for the eggs (whisk the eggs and the milk together), and 1 for the panko.
  3. Roll the string cheese one at a time in the flour, then egg, then bread crumbs.  Make sure you completely coat each piece of the cheese and pat the bread crumbs on so they stick.
  4. Place the cheese sticks on a plate and put them in the freezer for about 30 minutes to chill.
  5. Heat oil in a large pot (or deep fryer) until it reaches approx 350-375 degrees.
  6. Carefully place the cheese sticks into the hot oil and gently roll them around until they turn a golden brown.  Remove them from the oil before the cheese melts through the breadcrumbs.  I did them 2 at a time so as not to overcrowd the pan.
  7. Remove from the oil with a slotted spoon and let them rest on a paper towel covered plate.  (Put them directly on the plate if the cheese has leaked out though, otherwise they will stick to the paper towel)

I apologize for the typo! 200 degrees does make a huge difference! I asked Susan (The Confident Mom) to change the 1 to a 3 so that it reads 375!



Beth says:

No problem 🙂 I love this recipe & already have plans to make more of them!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
