The happy life of a happy wife…











{October 26, 2010}   Peanut Butter-scotch Bars

Recipe from: the Confident mom

I’m always amazed by how quickly time passes.  It seems like it was only last week that I saw this recipe and hit that Print button.  However, now that I go back to copy the link over I see that it was posted on June 14th.  Where has the time gone?

And I’m not even kidding when I tell you that these things are ridiculously easy to make!

The ingredients

Mix 'em up

Spread it out...

Top it off...

Let it chill

Serve it up

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 cup light Karo syrup
  • 1 1/2 cups crunchy peanut butter
  • 7 cups Rice Krispies
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips  (I only used 3/4 cups of the butterscotch chips because I wanted a more mild flavor)

Directions:

  1. Combine brown sugar, Karo syrup, and peanut butter over medium heat until melted and blended together.
  2. If you use a large pan, remove it from the heat and then you can add the Rice Krispies straight to the pot… otherwise transfer to a large mixing bowl and stir together.
  3. Spread the mixture in a 9×13 pan.
  4. Melt chocolate and butterscotch chips together and spread evenly over the Rice Krispies mixture.
  5. Cool in refrigerator until the chocolate hardens and then cut into squares.  (I did brownie-sized squares, but I think next time I’ll cut them into smaller bite-sized cubes.)

susan says:

Thanks for sharing this recipe with your readers!



fontgirl says:

Yum, Yum, Yum….my mom used to make these for me all the time when I was little. I had actually completely forgotten about them! Thanks!



🙂 Next time I make them I’m going to use peanut butter chips. I’m kind of addicted to the peanut butter/chocolate combination lol



Leave a Reply

et cetera
