The happy life of a happy wife…











{July 9, 2010}   Corn Dog Casserole

Some of my favorite posts on you are what you eat… or reheat are the White Trash Wednesday recipes.  They make me laugh and cringe all at the same time!  So corn dog casserole was this week’s post, and I thought to myself, “I like hot dogs.”  “I like corn dogs too.”  “Maybe I should make this.”  So I did.

Driving home from work yesterday, I warned hubby about my dinner plans for the night and I told him all about how it’s White Trash Wednesday.  “But it isn’t Wednesday,” he said, “It’s Thursday.  Trailer Trash Thursday.”  I took the recipe and left off the celery and onions (otherwise hubby wouldn’t eat it) and we added something very strange…  you’ll see…

The ingredients

All mixed up

Topped off and baking

I didn't burn it, promise.

Corn Dog Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 1/2 lbs hot dogs (that’s about 12 bun lengths LOL)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 tsp ground sage
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 (8.5 oz packages) dry corn bread mix.
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese, divided.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Slice the hot dogs lengthwise into quarters, then cut each into 3 or 4 pieces.
  3. Saute hot dogs for about 5 minutes until lightly browned with the 1 tbsp of butter (and I also added the juice from 1 of the hot dog packets to make it just a little more trashy)
  4. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, milk, sage, pepper, and corn bread mix.  Add the hot dogs (but keep about 1 cup set aside for later).  Mix in 1 1/2 cups of the shredded cheese.  Mix all together well and spread the mixture in your baking dish.
  5. Lay the reserved 1 cup of hot dogs gently on the top and sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese over that.
  6. Bake, uncovered, for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown.

When it was done, Shane put some on his plate and said, “You know what I think this needs?  Syrup!”  And he was right!  A little bit of syrup to dip the bites in really topped off this trashy recipe.  It may sound gross, but it worked for us.

While we did eat it, and neither of us thought it was terrible, I don’t think I’ll be making it again.



katie o. says:

holy crap! you’re totally right. it really is just like a breakfast casserole. you are hysterical and i’m so glad you tested it out. because now i don’t have to! 🙂



Leave a comment

et cetera