The happy life of a happy wife…











{January 17, 2011}   Chicken and Dumplings (Slow Cooker)

When I told Shane what I was making for dinner last night I got the rolling of the eyes that normally accompanies new recipe try-outs for him.  I don’t know if he’s never had chicken and dumplings before or if it just isn’t his thing, but he’s always said he doesn’t like dumplings.

Well…  I’ll take some credit now because he liked MY dumplings!  😉

This is a slow cooker recipe, although the timing isn’t great for a working person.  Only requiring 5-6 hours, it isn’t quite long enough to start in the morning and leave on all day (unless you have one of those fancy crock pots that will automatically switch itself to the ‘warm’ setting when it’s done.)  For me though, this is a great weekend dinner.  Start it around noon on a Sunday afternoon and you’re good-to-go.

And using the frozen chicken breasts is an added bonus!  I did some research, and the Crock-Pot website says (link here) you can use frozen meats in your slow cooker, but obviously make sure the meat is fully cooked before eating it.  (Duh?)  The below recipe was enough time for mine to cook, but please do double-check your meat with a thermometer.

So throw your chicken in, season to taste, add a pat of butter on top of each…

Like so…
And then add the rest of the ingredients (which I didn’t take a picture of because my camera ran out of battery, but I think you can handle it)

And voila!

Super easy and super tasty chicken and dumplings!
I took that pic when it was piping hot straight from the cooker, but it does thicken a bit upon standing.

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless, skinless frozen chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 (10.75oz) cans cream of chicken soup
  • Chicken broth
  • 2 cans refrigerated biscuit dough (I used 2 of the small cans)
  • Seasoning, to taste.

Directions:

  1. Place the chicken in the slow cooker.  Season as desired (I just used salt, pepper, and a generous sprinkle of garlic powder)
  2. Add 0.5 tbsp of butter over each piece and then pour the cream of chicken soup on top.
  3. Dump in the entire container of chicken broth and then top with enough water to cover the top of the chicken.
  4. Cover and cook on the high setting for 3 1/2 to 4 hours.
  5. Remove the chicken breasts and cut each breast into 3-4 pieces.  Put the chicken pieces back in the slow cooker.
  6. Tear your biscuits into little bite-size pieces.  It doesn’t need to be perfect.  Place the biscuits in the slow cooker and cook for an additional 1 1/2 hours.  Your biscuit dough should have a dumpling-like consistency and shouldn’t be raw in the center.
  7. Enjoy!


Olive says:

Comfort food! Mmmm this looks so good. I think I’ll do a similar version of it this next weekend. We are supposed to drop down in temps again.



I really liked this and I know I’ll definitely make it again— but I think it probably needs some extra seasoning. 🙂



Jan says:

Do you use the whole box of chicken broth?



Yes, and then top it off with water if you don’t have enough broth. You want the chicken to be covered with the liquid.



Umm silly question … I am just now starting to do actual cooking and baking. If we only do two chickens and one can of biscuits can I cut the time in half ? Or will it need the 3 1/2 hours to cook the chicken?



My guess is that you’ll still need more time for the chicken to cook, but you can always check the temperature halfway to see if it’s done 🙂



Karen says:

I bought my daughter a crock pot with no timer as you did. I figured out how to “time” her meals..I bought her timer at home depot for $5. All you do is plug your timer in the wall, plug your pot in, set your start and stop time. Works great. Good luck.



Brittany says:

Can I cook the chicken on low for 8 ish hours instead???



Jessica says:

How many people does this feed?



So I just need enough broth to cover the chicken? Thank you so much for posting! Can’t wait to try this awesome recipe!



Renee says:

I made this for supper tonight and it was delicious.



Yummy Crock pot
Chicken and dumplings



Carl H says:

I use ‘canned biscuit dumplings’ all the time. I suggest pressing a pinch of thyme on them before dropping ’em into the broth.



Kim says:

I also add a large can of Veg-all.



Judi says:

This was so simple and so yummy. A nice addition to my comfort food collection! Thank you for sharing.



michelle says:

How many people did this feed? Thanks!



Jenn says:

Yum! if you cut chicken into chunks, it cooks completely in 4 hrs. Just add the dough into pot about half way through so it has time to cook too. This is helpful if you start at 3:00pm or 4:00pm and have a night of activities. I cannot seem to get it together before we walk out the door in the morning but once I get home from school, if I do this right away, we can have it for dinner. Thank you for sharing the recipe. We usually have leftovers and it all gets eaten.



cheri says:

Love love this. I will b making this tonight cuz i have a dentist appt and need something not so chewey for dinner



hi I do leave mine all day I also add mix vegatables and potatoes come out real good.



cherish garza says:

How much broth is it exactly?



Theresa says:

I have been cooking my biscuit’s for an hour so far and they mushy



Taylor says:

I found this recipe while looking for something to make for dinner, and was wayy too hungry to wait the six hours for it to cook in a crock pot. I decided to try it in a big pot on the stove and was amazed at how fantastic and easy this was! My boyfriend loved it as well



Shawna says:

Are you supposed to cook the biscuits before putting them in the crock pot or do you put them in straight from the fridge?



You put them in straight from the fridge



Katie says:

I love this recipe! It’s my favorite on a cold day. I also add celery, carrots, and sometimes peas at the end to get extra veggies in my kids.



Leave a comment

et cetera