The happy life of a happy wife…











{January 21, 2011}   Writer’s Workshop

Mama's Losin' It

He’s:   Hot
I’m:     Cold

He’s:   Liberal
I’m:     Conservative

He’s:   Agnostic
I’m:     Catholic

He’s:   Jerry Springer
I’m:     Judge Judy

He’s:   Drama-free
I’m:     Drama-Queen

He’s:   Computers
I’m:     Notebooks (the paper kind)

He’s:   Wing it
I’m:    Follow a recipe

… etc …

But we seem to work no matter our differences.  I honestly love the fact that he’s ok with us being different… he doesn’t care that I don’t share his same interests and it’s ok for us to be our own person.



Recipe adapted from: The Girl Who Ate Everything

You know you want to take a bite out of that, don’t ya?

The ingredients

Chopped pretzels +

Peanut butter =

Yummy truffle stuffle

Roll into balls

Dip in chocolate

Sprinkle some toffee bits on top

Chill in the fridge

I don’t freak out trying to make my truffles perfect.  Remember that your cooking has home-made charm  🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup finely chopped salted pretzels
  • 1 box Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate squares
  • 1 bag Heath toffee bits for garnish

Directions:

  1. Combine pretzels and peanut butter in a small bowl.
  2. This step isn’t necessary, but it will make it much easier:  Chill the mixture in the freezer until firm (15 minutes)
  3. Line a baking sheet with parchment or wax paper.
  4. Roll the peanut butter mixture into balls – roughly 2 tsps each.  Transfer to the baking sheet.
  5. Freeze until very firm (about 30 minutes)
  6. Following the directions on the box, melt the chocolate.
  7. Roll the frozen balls in melted chocolate and transfer back to the baking sheet.
  8. Sprinkle toffee on top and then refrigerate until the chocolate is set (about 30 minutes)

My truffles were quite large, so this recipe only made 7.  Adjust to your desire  🙂



et cetera